New chair 2021

The Clare Association in Dublin (Muintir an Chláir) has a new chairperson in 2021

Tom Conway, a native of Ballyea, Inagh, will now lead the association for the coming year after his unanimous election at the association’s annual general meeting in September 2021 at the Clasac Comhaltas Ceoltoírí Centre, Clontarf.

He succeeds Gerry O’ Reilly, who stepped down after a very successful term as the association’s chairman.

The new chairman, together with the long standing association officer, Liam O’Looney, also from Inagh, were among those who paid tribute to Mr O’ Reilly for his efforts and wonderful work on behalf of the association. He will continue to support the association as one of its officers.

Mr O’Reilly thanked all members of the association for their endeavours and all who assisted the association in any way during his term in office.

Mr Conway, who was a chief superintendent when he retired from An Garda Siochana in 2016 after 41 years service –most of it in Dublin- joined in the appeal for more Clare natives or people with Clare connections who are living in and around Dublin to join or support the association.

He said that they would especially welcome younger members with new ideas to join them.

Elected were Pat O’Donnell (president), Liam O’Looney (vice-president), Bishop Fintan Monahan, Bishop of Killaloe (patron), Tom Conway (chairman), Mary Kennedy (vice-chairman), Mary Forbes (secretary), John Brooks (PRO), Liam O’Looney (assistant PRO), Kieran Barry (honorary treasurer), Gerry O’Reilly (assistant honorary treasurer), Fr Finbarr Neylon (spiritual director), Brother Seán McNamara, Ennis CBS (Representative in Clare), Tony Mulvey, Ennis (assistant Clare representative).

Elected to the committee were Mary Browne, Donal O’Loinsigh, Martin Vaughan, Michael Clancy, Michael Anglim, Tom Hillery, Ita O’Looney, Mary Barry, Paddy Kelly, Michael Kelleher, John McGrath and Michael Forbes.